Tarotmoon Press

Adventures in Self-Publishing

New Year’s Resolutions in Capricorn

This was an interesting New Year’s period for Capricorns, astrologically speaking. The Sun and Mercury were conjunct from Jan 1-5, and Mercury was retrograde. Now, I personally think that the Solstice-New Year’s period is always a bit more meaningful for us Cappys – it comes right at our birthdays, emphasizing reflection on the past year and looking forward toward the coming year. Being an Earth sign, we feel the stillness of mid-winter that is solstice deeply, the fallowness of the earth, the inward being in the darkness and then reaching out again toward the light.

But this year, we had this added factor. People tend to moan and groan at Mercury retrograde, but let’s take a more careful look. Mercury is the planet of expression and thought. It’s the thinking part of our brain, ruling Gemini and Virgo. Sure, there can be all kinds of screw-ups with transportation, technology, and communication. But leaving that aside for a moment, it’s also an excellent time to rethink, re-evaluate, re-imagine our lives. Kind of like a New Year’s resolution, only better. Rather than reaching out to communicate outwardly, we’re thinking inwardly and communing with ourselves, perhaps with that deep still part of the mind that Mercury doesn’t always sit still enough to listen to.

Add to that the conjunction with the Sun in our sign. So, what are we thinking about, re-evaluating, re-imagining? Our outward selves – what we project to the world, what we show everyone of ourselves. For a Capricorn, that’s serious business indeed. And interestingly, I saw several of my fellow Cappies posting in this period about exactly this – starting a new career, rededicating themselves to walking their walk and being successful at it, and other plans of that nature.

Myself, I felt somewhat fallow in this period. I have reached most of my life goals from the last 5 years over the last year, and wasn’t sure I was ready to make new ones. However, just as this period was ending, I felt it all come together and I realized what my next process needs to be – outwardly focused yes, but perhaps more personal than usual for my goals.

I’d love to hear from other Capricorns and see if this rings true for you :)

January 6, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Yes, this rings true for me. I wonder how much of it is just the fact that I’ve reached that 50th birthday milestone. I’ve been thinking heavily (another Capricorn trait, I suppose) about many of these same things. A new career, and a new persona if not something deeper than that.

    Comment by Mike | January 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

