Tarotmoon Press

Adventures in Self-Publishing

Tarot Transits – Jupiter in Pisces

With this post, I’m starting a series looking at astrological transits and/or aspects and how tarot can be used to put these astrological energies to good use. I’ll post and discuss a particular event that’s going on either currently or in the next few days, along with related questions that can be used with a simple 1-3 card tarot reading. I hope you’ll post the results of your readings in the comments section – if there’s enough interest in doing this regularly we can start a discussion group.

It seemed fitting to start this series with Jupiter entering Pisces today, January 17, until June 5. Jupiter is the planet of fortune, expansiveness, and prosperity, and for those of us who make all or part of our living in areas related to Pisces and the 12th house, this period may provide a particularly beneficial opportunity for new and creative endeavors. Anyone who works in areas relating to spirituality, creativity, the occult, or hidden matters of the mind (e.g., psychologists) or spirit may benefit. There could also be a focus on charitable work and ways of recreating economies that reflect our personal and spiritual values.

One aspect that will need to be overcome for many of us is building a belief that our particular gifts are worth being monetarily compensated for, and that it’s acceptable to make a living, even a good living, using them. Pisces may suffer from self-doubt or lack of self-esteem, although Jupiter can help bring a much-needed positive and confident outlook to counter that. Jupiter also brings fiery energy to jump-start plans that may have been swirling around in the back of our minds for a while without materializing.

There are also challenges during this period. One should take care not to fall under the sway of illusory influences or economic schemes that are shifty or not on solid ground. There could be a dreamy, unrealistic quality to plans or ideas for money-making, especially daydreams of easy money. Alcohol and other temptations can derail the best-laid plans. Sticking to a sound business plan while also holding true to our spiritual values provides the surest path forward in creating a more rewarding personal economy.

With all of the above in mind, and also keeping firmly in mind the time period within which we’re working, you may wish to draw a single tarot card for each of these questions (feel free to choose other questions if you prefer):

1) How can I best use the Jupiter in Pisces energy to increase my personal wealth/income in a way consistent with my spiritual values?
2) What pitfalls or challenges are most likely to be of concern for me personally in doing so?

Here are my results with the Tarot of Dreams:

1) Four of Coins, reversed. This is an interesting message that I interpret as not being afraid to spend money – not hoarding or saving in fear of not having enough. I should not have too structured of a plan that limits me from moving in new directions, particularly out of fear or concern for the future or financial stability. Jupiter is an expansive, generous energy, and during this time at least, I can afford to give my gifts to the world and spend money to make money. There are opportunities I could miss if I am too conservative.

2) Queen of Coins, reversed. Two reversed cards in Coins suggests to me that my focus needs to be less about money and how to plan for it and obtain it, less focus on material things in general (which will ultimately create what I need in this area). I spent most of last year tending to my house and business in very material ways, and I need to go in new directions this year. The Queen of Pentacles is my natural sign, with many planets in Capricorn near the midheaven, so I need to resist the temptation to continue with being the same person I always am and doing the same things I always do, and let other parts of myself take the fore.

January 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. This is a great idea, Teresa … and a wonderful post on Jupiter in Pisces (… goes to look where this falls in my chart). I’ll be following your blogs on this! Leisa ReFalo and Dena DeCastro have done some great podcasts on astrology and the Tarot, available at each of their sites, and I’m looking forward to more on this intersection here :)

    Comment by Mary Pat | January 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes! I should have mentioned that if you have your chart, it provides an important added element to see where this falls in your natal chart, to see what area of your life is most likely the most strongly affected. Thanks for that reminder :)

      Comment by shadowmeteresa | January 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hi Theresa< I've been receiving your Comparative List for some time now but have been spreading myself to thinly and never have had time to be involved. I like the idea of the Astrology/Tarot list. I have a small amount of knowledge about astrology and feel contributing would help me to be more knowledgeable.

    I hope you enjoy your month in NZ. It is a beautiful country. I have drawn two cards as follows:

    1) How can I best use the Jupiter in Pisces energy to increase my personal wealth/income in a way consistent with my spiritual values?

    I used the Golden Rider:

    VI of Pentacles:This card to me represents 'giving and receiving' The scales symbolize finding that balance between being spiritually satisfied and economically satisfied. It also indicates being generous to others and perhaps helping others in some way. But also being open to receive from others. This card to me, isnt all about 'money or material items'. It represents giving of time to others and receiving the same for myself It is a reminder not to focus solely on money. It is about giving without the expectation of rewards. Ironically, the rewards come anyway.Perhaps in the coming months some good fortune is coming to me provided I get the balance right.

    2) What pitfalls or challenges are most likely to be of concern for me personally in doing so?

    IV The Emperor: Perhaps there needs to be some element of a planned risk. The Emperor seems to like the 'tried and tested' and finds it difficult to break free from structures. Moving out of the 'box' may be relevant here. Being too stuck on one direction may also be an obstacle. A different approach may help, or perspective.

    Teresa, I always find it difficult to do readings for myself. I'll look forward to comments.
    Pauline

    Comment by pauline donohoe | January 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Pauline,
      I think you’ve done a great job with these interpretations. A lot of people have the giving/receiving issues with “spiritual economics”, and I do think you’ve hit on a key by remembering that it’s an exchange of energy, time, and generosity on both sides. By paying for your reading, a person is showing what value it has to them, and it’s important not to undervalue yourself in what you ask for.

      I received a similar card (4 of Pents) to the Emperor in this context – all about structure and, it seems to me, safety or conventional approaches as the challenge. It might be worth continuing with that part of the reading to see what creative new ideas, even with some risk, there might be to add to what you already have established.

      Good luck! And when I return from NZ I may see if there’s interest in a separate list. Either way I’ll be returning to the theme here.

      Comment by shadowmeteresa | January 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

