Tarotmoon Press

Adventures in Self-Publishing

What’s happened to my writing?

I’m not really sure. In February, I spent a whole month in New Zealand. At the time, I was feeling overwhelmed by a lot of things in my life, like as usual I had too much on my plate. One of my goals for the time away (far away!) on this vacation was to try to sort out what I should or wanted to do less of to bring my life back into balance. Oddly enough, it didn’t turn out to be what I expected. Writing for me has become something of a SHOULD. You know, as in “don’t should on yourself.” :)

I should write because I have one book 2/3 of the way finished and it’s been that way for years. And a great idea for a new book that I’ve started and is looking really good. And because people like what I write and I do it well, and… well, any number of should-like reasons. I realized that I wasn’t really feeling like writing right now, but it was part of my ego-complex that, being a Capricorn with tons of planets clustered around the midheaven, NEEDS to write and be acknowledged by the world. Bleah. That’s the last kind of reason I need for anything right now, and really hard to admit to myself, much less to you all!

One of my goals for this year was to be more social and live in the world more. I’m ready for a new relationship, and a bunch more friends. I’ve started some new activities in person, and all this along with a full workload make additional writing and time on the internet difficult and maybe even counter-productive to living a more full life. I do love writing and I know that the desire to write will come back someday. And in the meantime, I will occasionally post interesting stuff as the urge takes me, so if you are subscribed I hope you will continue to do so. Hopefully taking the pressure off will allow things to flow when they’re ready to. Please feel free to continue to use all the materials on the site as open-source for anything you’d like to do.

In the meantime, if you’re not already following them, I wanted to point out two recently initiated tarot blogs that are turning out to be just great. These blogs are not only deep and interesting, but consistent in ways that pointed out to me just how little I was managing to meet that standard :) I would highly recommend that you visit:

James Ricklef’s Tarot Blog

and

Llewellyn Unbound’s Tarot Pathways by Barbara Moore

Until next time… may the stars and the cards guide you well.

July 1, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. You go, girl *grin* …I’ll look forward to reading your writing when it’s ready to emerge!

    Comment by Mary Pat Lynch | July 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

